The Barkley Forum for Debate, Deliberation, and Dialogue, in conjunction with Emory College, offers a four-year renewable merit scholarship to an incoming first-year Emory College student debater each year through the Emory Scholars Program. Applicants must be accepted through the Emory admissions process, demonstrate superior academic achievement, and demonstrate interscholastic debate excellence to be eligible for consideration.

Each year, the Barkley Forum nominates five high school student debaters to be Emory Scholars Program Finalists. Finalists are considered for membership in the Emory Scholars Program and for the Robert W. Woodruff Debate Scholarship, which consists of full tuition, fees, and on-campus room, and board, renewable for up to 4 years of undergraduate study.

Finalists nominated by the Barkley Forum are also considered for all of the other scholarships (for which they are eligible) offered by the Emory Scholars Program, including the signature Robert W. Woodruff Scholarship and others (other merit scholarships offered by Emory). Many members of the Barkley Forum have received such scholarships in the past, and those other scholarship awards are determined solely by the Admissions Office and Emory College.

For further questions, contact Mikaela Malsin at If you wish to apply for the Merit Scholarship for Debate, download the application, complete all the information and return to


We recommend using Adobe Reader to complete the Application and Recommendation forms.  Application and Recommendation Forms for 2023-2024 are available below.

If you have any questions, please contact Mikaela Malsin at or call the Barkley Forum for Debate, Deliberation, and Dialogue Office at (404) 727-6189.

1980 Bill Brewster
1981 Tom Kruse
1982 Scott Segal
1983 Craig Bertschi
1984 Andrew Gold
1985 Frank Lowrey
1986 Gus Puryear
1987 Darren Summerville
Jason Bergmann
1988 Amy Johnson
1989 Jon Sharp
1990 Corey Todaro
1991 Charlie Henn
1992 Kate Shuster
1993 Ronna Landy
1994 Anjan Sahni
1995 George Kouros
1996 Jeff McNabb
1997 David Harkin
1998 Adam Goldstein
1999 Josh Lynn
2000 Henry Liu
2001 Didi Kuo
Michael Greenstein
2002 Stephen Chaudoin
2003 Mozhdeh Aimi Hamraie
2004 Julie Hoehn
2005 Pradeep Pramanik
2006 Sam Caporal
2007 Stephen Weil
2008 James Hamraie
2009 Rajesh Jegadeesh
2010 Megan Cambre
2011 Greg Adler
2012 Jason Sigalos
2013 Nathaniel Sawyer
2014 Mike Demers
2015 Camila Reed-Guevara
2016 Gabi Yamount
2017 Ryan James
Sukriti Rawal
2018 Ben Jablonski
2019 Eugenia Giampetruzzi
2020 Jackson Eckel
Grace Kessler
Henry Mitchell
Shreyas Rajagopal
Kareem Safieddine
2021 Hanna Rice
2022 Clara Conry
Sonya Doubledee
Lucas Lobo
2023 Kalil Bennett
Daniel Gallagher
Zoey Walsh
Coralynn Yang